Network Rail yellow - which paint to use ?

I keeping thinking about having a dabble at respraying one of my older locos (class 37 or 31) into the Network rail yellow livery. I could then use this to pull along my Dapol track cleaner which I plan to apply the Electra vinyls to.

However I have no idea how to find the correct match of yellow paint required. Is there a website or anything that would give me a colour match for this and also for the standard yellow ends of locos?

I am thinking about purchasing an airbrush to do this repaint, so I am looking for a paint suitable for airbrushing.

Sorry if this is a bit of a daft question - I'm still a newbie even after 3 years modelling! rolleyes.gif

Dave

• RMweb Gold

I'm not sure of the exact shade, but one thing I know - it's different from the warning panel yellow, but not by much.

We had to use two different paints when we overhauled the Switch & Crossing Grinders but you really have to look hard to see the difference.

Checking on Precision Paints website reveals they do a specific paint

http://www.phoenix-paints.co.uk/enamel.asp?F_Railway=6

P310 looks like what you want :)

Network Rail is usually Sunshine Yellow. It's available from a few sources in model paints and the one I had was anaemic and crap (which seems to be a general problem with yellow model paints) so you need a decent white primer layer. I did try and get the actual paint spec out of network rail but they were so utterly inept they eventually bounced me around their system to their emergency reporting call people !

The cabs fronts are the modern warning panel yellow and differ. Get a decent photo and you can see the colour join.

For the 31s check the loco you pick carefully a lot of the NR 31s are not yellow in the first place and at least one is the 'skinhead' style without headcode box. They also have the extra headlamp in differing places, which is easy to do as Peco/Ratio make them in yellow to glue on.