Β 

Is the Atlas model anywhere close to the ones the IHB has just received?

Β 

Prototype pics (and a proto-nook if you're interested!) in these pics:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/36106399@N04/sets/72157627541820393/with/6145999442/

Β 

I got as far as 4-axles - check

Blombergs - check

3 engines - check

Β 

And then started running out of things I should probably be checking for differences....?

Is the Atlas model anywhere close to the ones the IHB has just received?

Β 

I got as far as 4-axles - check

Blombergs - check

3 engines - check

Β 

And then started running out of things I should probably be checking for differences....?

Β 

Dear NSE,

Β 

I'm no genset expert, but I have a 1/2 decent set of eyes... :-)

Β 

From the criteria you've already called, a significant # or modellers would be "That'll do, now where's the airbrush...",

and that's just fine...

Β 

However, if you're the kind of modeller who has that nagging voice in the back of your head saying "there's something _not_quite_right_ here", then let's consider

Β 

1 - The IHB gensets are officially NRE model 3GS21C locomotives. Unfortunately, a quick Google could not provide any info as to whether it was the 3GS21C model that Atlas had in mind when designing their HO loco.

Β 

2 - Given Atlas's "it has 3 x 700hp primemovers" statement, and comparing that to the NRE genset lineup, it could have been based on one of up-to 3 different NRE models, so still no closer to nailing it down "on paper".

Β 

http://www.trainweb....ensets/nre.html

Β 

3 - However, as many modellers and articles have stated "if you wish to model a given unit, check the photos".

Β 

Ergo

Β 

10000592_BeautyShot.jpg

Β 

VS

Β 

ihb2142.jpg

Β 

says to me:

1 - Blomberg trucks = Check!

2 - Long Hood height = taller on the IHB unit

(compare to the relative height of the short hood)

3 - Atlas Model has 3 definite "stacks", cannot be seen on the IHB unit