Point motor basics

George Hudson

I am not very experienced with electrical matters and tend to plod forward with simple systems working from simple first principles. I thought it would be useful to link certain (PECO) point motors so that one switch would move two complimentary points at once e.g. facing or trailing points must always be set together. As the following pictures show, I have a simple control box (with CDU) which pushes out current to motors on a push to make basis with a common return.

A dry run showed that with one motor connected (switch 17) this worked fine however when I attempted to connect a second motor (18) by simply wiring at the switch box (grey wires). Only one motor would work and sometimes two but one in only one direction. I can’t see why this is so; does anyone have any ideas?

Many thanks in advance!

Andrew

post-6781-0-17638600-1307614746_thumb.jpg

post-6781-0-50712200-1307614763_thumb.jpg

post-6781-0-17886900-1307614783_thumb.jpg

post-6781-0-70894800-1307614798_thumb.jpg

• RMweb Premium

My first thought would be to try to make sure that the motors work in isolation i.e. connect the power and switch to one motor of the pair only and make sure that works. If it does, swap the motors over and re-test.

If that works connect the first motor to the second (in parallel) and re-try. To my mind a failure at that stage tends to suggest that the CDU has a problem (assuming that the CDU was in-line when you tested the individual motors).

Hi Andrew.

As has been suggested make sure that the point motors work one by one by themselves ok. The problem may be that your wire may not be thick enough to carry the amps that two motors need. 2 motors together will take a fair thump to move them.If you don't have any thick wire available then double or triple what you are using at present to test it out.