Fleischmann turntable wiring

bizmad

I have purchased an old Fleischmann 1780 turntable for use on my layout at the end of a fiddle yard, so I wasn't too bothered that it looks old. It has no wiring instructions with it, all I have is the turntable (with three terminals on the side coloured red, grey, yellow), a length of wire with the same 3 colours, and a rotary switch which has the same 3 coloured terminals plus two more, black and plain. There are wires going from each of the entry tracks to the middle of the turntable underneath to power the tracks on the bridge.

Although my layout is DCC, I am going to operate the turntable motor itself from a DC controller which has 12V DC and 16V AC outputs.

I'm not very good with electrics (that's an understatement to say the least) so could anyone please explain in basic terms how I should wire this up.

Thanks for any help

Keith

Not sure if this will help. I can't help with the specific one you have, but I suspect they are all fairly similar.

http://members.ozema...nual_Wiring.jpg

Looking at it, this diagram is for a three rail version. From the switch the white and black go to the 12-14vAC power supply and the red, grey, yellow go from the switch to the turntable motor control.

The other two wires which would be the track feeds, would connect to the track circuit. As this is 3 rail, it shows two orange for the outer rail and a white for the centre. A simple meter test should allow you to buzz out the rail connections.

Thanks Gordon, I'd found this by googling, unfortunately it doesn't mean a lot to me. I know the Marklin and Fleischmann turntables are the same, but what a Marklin K84 decoder is (or does) I haven't the faintest idea.

The switch that came with the turntable is a very old design. I think I may have tracked down a newer one which has 5 wires attached, the same three I have plus two more for the power, so hopefully that will solve my problem.