Dapol Returns - keep your receipt!

Black Sheep

Just a quick note,

I currently work in a model shop and am an N gauge modeler and thought I'd share information we are passing onto our customers when purchasing new Dapol locomotives.

Basically, our shop have been told by Dapol that they are going to be only dealing with warranty issues if the locomotive is sent in with a copy of the purchase receipt (guessing that's to show when it was bought and that the shop sending it in is where it was bought from)

I'm keeping my receipts for both my farish and my Dapol locos tucked in the box with them just incase. :)

I am not a Lawyer, nor an N gauge modeller. But i would like to point readers to the Sale of Goods Act 1979 (http://www.legislati...k/ukpga/1979/54) where by you only ever need proof of purchase (receipt or bank statement or original packaging or a witness) to entitle you to your consumer rights being recognised. This includes when buying your item should be satisfactory quality, fit for purpose and as described. If these are not met, you are entitled (with your proof of purchase) a repair, replacement or refund for upto 6 years (though this is a little where the "upto" ends). This supersedes any European law of 2 years and manufacturer warranties/guarantees. We actually have some of the best consumer rights in the world, sadly going through European parliaments currently is an attempt to limit our rights inline with European Law, so please use the Sales of Goods Act 1979 whilst we still have it!

I thought i would just pass this information on as i am shocked by how many people do not know their rights. I recently had a missing buffer on a DVT and used the Sales of Goods act very effectively to get a replacement when initially the manafactorer refused liability.

**unfair line removed**