Standard 4MT Tank

south_tyne

Hi folks. 

I'm after a bit of advice if possible.... 

I'm potentially on the lookout for a Standard 4MT. As a newbie I've been trying to find out a bit more about the Farish model. It looks like they haven't been produced for a while. Doing some digging the design seemed to be retooled from the original Poole version, and was upgraded and produced a DCC chip. However, it seems it's never made it to the next gen 18 pin stage, and Farish haven't done a run for a number of years...

In looking for a secondhand one, are the latest ones those produced in about 2012/13 with a 6 pin socket? Do they still stand up to scrutiny, in terms of looks and performance , or is it looking tired? 

Many thanks for any input 🙂 

The most recent ones were a complete retool and owe nothing to the earlier Poole model. They are highly detailed and have a modern coreless motor chassis, spokes all see through etc, they certainly stand up to scrutiny even today. There has so far only been one production batch made and that only two livery variants BR black - both early and late crests so just 2000 models (I have both, one converted to DCC sound for me). It was tooled to include a tablet catcher in a cab-side recess as per Scottish versions, but so far that hasn't been taken advantage of as none have been made with it.

The DCC socket was 6 pin, and unless it were to be upgraded to sound I doubt that would change were another run to be produced. This is evidenced by the soon to be released (November) re-run of the very similar Fairburn retaining the 6 pin socket. In truth, with no auxiliary functions I think 6 pin is fine for such locos personally.

Roy

• Agree 1
  • Thanks 1
  • Informative/Useful 1

Thanks Roy, that's really helpful. I only do DC, so the DCC stuff is a little superfluous to me, but it does help to identify the newest models as a newbie to N Gauge.