N Scale swiss layout help

crazydrum95

Hi All,

I'm a relative newbie to the hobby, and want to build a layout in N, with continental/swiss models. I have only run trains on 1 'proper' layout in the past, which was a two level, 2 helix layout.
I'm trying to plan my new layout, but as a newbie without much experience, i'm struggling to put ideas together. I am also terribly slow at scarm so making designs is taking forever.

I've tried to categorize what i would like into needs & wants.

Need; to fit my space. Have already got some baseboards, 2100 x 800 & 2400 x 800 (mm), a fiddle yard for train storage

Want; Multiple levels, a bridge/viaduct, tunnels

Like; something intermodal or some interaction between road and rail. Some sort of construction scene

Don't want; Shunting/sidings, DCC

I've got pictures of the old layout i used which I will upload and link to later on. I'd like it to be similar, but not the same, and also try to incorporate some extra elements. There is also a popular layout here in the UK called 'swisspass' which is great and similar to what i am trying to achieve.

Any ideas gratefully recieved.

Thanks

3 hours ago, crazydrum95 said:

Want; Multiple levels, a bridge/viaduct, tunnels

Like; something intermodal or some interaction between road and rail. Some sort of construction scene

Have you considered something based on the construction of a new tunnel? Both Gotthard and Lotschberg routes have had substantial new base tunnels in recent times. There’s also the new Albula tunnel on the RhB for inspiration if something a little less vast is needed. 

The Lotschberg was particularly interesting because it made use of BLS Ae8/8 locos on the spoil traffic. Both the locos and tipping wagons are available in N. Lots of pics and videos to be found, including this one on Flickr: 

Mark

• Like 2
  • Interesting/Thought-provoking 1

• RMweb Premium