Idea for a small terminus station

crehld

Hello!

It's my first time posting here. The missus has insisted that I get a hobby and given my interest in railway related things, building a model railway seemed like the logical thing to do! So here we are! 

I've made a few key decisions already:

• Scale is OO.
  • It should be a small terminus station based in an urban / suburban location.
  • Period wise set anywhere between the 1950s and 1970s.
  • Should provide for both loco-hauled passenger trains (which I admit will be short given the space I have) and DMUs. Parcels traffic would add further interest.

After a bit of reading and research I was rather taken with the classic 'Minories' plan. This allows for the terminus of a double track mainline to modelled in the relatively small space I have. However as I've got a bit of spare space (in depth terms) I've decided to tweak it a little by also adding in a single track branchline - I'm toying with whether I should make this branchline electrified via third rail which would add a bit of variety. I'm also playing around with the idea of including a separate parcels depot, which would provide for a little more operational interest beyond just running passenger trains.

So, this is what I've managed to come up with - I'd appreciate any wise words for how it can be improved:

34203478955_15640f5f06_b.jpg

Just a few additional points before you all chip in:

• The total baseboard size is 8' x 2'. It is composed of two 4' x 2' baseboards which can be separated for ease of portability if required. This obviously has implications for the location of pointwork.